Congratulations Paul
Paul STnDDr. Paul van den Broek is the recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award. This is the Society's most prestigious award, which honors scholars who have made outstanding scientific contributions to the study of discourse processing and text analysis.

A committee of senior researchers, chaired by Dr. Joe Magliano, selected Dr. van den Broek from a list of renowned nominees. Previous award winners were Walter Kintsch, Herb Clark, Art Graesser, Tony Sanford & Simon Garrod, Marcel Just, Morton Ann Gernsbacher, Charles Perfetti, and Jerome Myers & Edward J. O’Brien.

Awardees are recognized for their:

· outstanding research that has enhanced the scientific understanding of discourse processing and text analysis;
· contributions to the mentorship of students, postdoctoral fellows, and colleagues in the field of text and discourse;
· meritorious contributions to the advancement of the field through leadership as a theorist or spokesperson for the discipline.

The Society of Text and Discourse will present the award to Dr. van den Broek at the Society's Annual meeting in Kassel, Germany, July 18-20. As the winner of the DSCA award, Dr. van den Broek will provide a keynote lecture at our annual meeting. The conference website, can be found at: